A map of former Yugoslavia, showing current boundaries

Map by Keefe I.

By Keefe I., 5th grade
I’m going to tell you a little bit about former Yugoslavia and what countries it broke up into. Yugoslavia consisted of 7 countries: Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, Kosovo, and Macedonia. Yugoslavia is in southeastern Europe. Slovenia preserves its culture and Croatia has famous fish farms which raise bluefin tuna. Bosnia and Herzegovina is facing economic distress and Serbia is landlocked, and is economically okay. Montenegro is very rural, and has traditional headscarf/non-overpopulation, Kosovo has a small but decent economy. Macedonia is going smoothly and is just there. Their peace is rare. Yugoslavia bordered Hungary, Austria, Italy, Albania, Greece, Bulgaria and Romania.

My favorite countries in Yugoslavia are Bosnia and Herzegovina (the name) and Croatia (the language) and Serbia (my dad’s side family originated there.) Capitals of these countries:

  • Slovenia: Lubljana
  • Croatia: Zagreb
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina: Sarajevo
  • Serbia: Belgrade
  • Montenegro: Podgorica
  • Kosovo: Pristina
  • Macedonia: Skopje.

I hope you enjoyed learning about Yugoslavia! Bye!